Book Review – WHIP SMART Lola Montez and the Poisoned Nom de Plume by Kit Brennan

Whip Smart 2 by Kit Brennan

WHIP SMART Lola Montez and the Poisoned Nom de Plume Synopsis:  The frothy sexy second book in the Whip Smart series opens with the gorgeous, ever-headstrong Lola Montez careening around Europe, on the run from the haunting memories of Spain and the wild adventure that nearly cost her life. It is 1844. Lola encounters celebrated pianist […]

Book Review – THE ACCIDENT by Chris Pavone

The Accident by Chris Pavone

The Accident Synopsis:  From the author of the New York Times-bestselling and Edgar Award-winning The Expats As dawn approaches in New York, literary agent Isabel Reed is turning the final pages of a mysterious, anonymous manuscript, racing through the explosive revelations about powerful people, as well as long-hidden secrets about her own past. In Copenhagen, veteran CIA operative […]

Book Review – COCKROACHES by Jo Nesbo

Cockroaches by Jo Nesbo

Cockroaches Synopsis:  Detective Harry Hole arrives in a steaming hot Bangkok. But it’s work not pleasure. The Norwegian ambassador has been found dead in a seedy motel room, and no witnesses have come forward. The ambassador had close ties to the Norwegian Prime Minister, and to avoid a scandal Harry is sent there to hush up […]

Book Review – THE MIDNIGHT PROMISE by Zane Lovitt

The Midnight Promise by Zane Lovitt

The Midnight Promise, A Detective’s Story in Ten Cases Synopsis:  Winner, Ned Kelly Awards, Best First Fiction, 2013 A brilliant Melbourne crime novel, told in ten hardboiled stories. John Dorn is a private investigator. Just like his father used to be. It says ‘private inquiry agent’ in John’s Yellow Pages ad because that’s what his old […]

Book Review – THE UNDERTAKING OF LILY CHEN by Danica Novgorodoff

The Undertaking of Lily Chen by Danica Novgorodoff

The Undertaking of Lily Chen Synopsis: In “The Undertaking of Lily Chen,” Deshi, a young man struggling to make a life for himself in rural China, watches his life comes unhinged when he accidentally kills his older brother in a fight. His distraught parents send him on a hopeless journey to acquire a bride for […]

Book Review – ERASMUS HOBART AND THE GOLDEN ARROW by Andrew Fish

Erasmus Hobart and the Golden Arrow by Andrew Fish

Erasmus Hobart and the Golden Arrow Synopsis:  In this time-travelling romp, Andrew Fish brings a new slant to the classic legend. Erasmus Hobart is the perfect new adventurer for fans of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett. Robin Hood was a crook! But was he as good a crook as the legends suggest? That’s what Erasmus Hobart […]

Book Review – MARKING TIME by April White

Marking Time by April White

Marking Time Synopsis:  Seventeen-year-old tagger Saira Elian can handle anything… a mother who mysteriously disappears, a stranger who stalks her around London, and even the noble English Grandmother who kicked Saira and her mother out of the family. But when an old graffiti tag in a tube station transports Saira to the 19th Century and she […]

Book Review – WATER WILL FIND ITS WAY by Bronagh Slevin

Water Will Find Its Way by Bronagh Slevin

Water Will Find Its Way Synopsis:  A bewitching tango dancer in an Argentinian brothel. An orphan seamstress lured away from the Armenian ghetto by a charming French soldier. And a mother who is struggling to overcome a legacy of shame that began the night she fled from the genocide… Seville, 1950: Many years after reunion with […]

Book Review – NANCY WAKE by Peter FitzSimons

Nancy Wake by Peter FitzSimons

Nancy Wake Synopsis  A Biography of Our Greatest War Heroine 1912-2011 In the early 1930s, Nancy Wake was a young woman enjoying a bohemian life in Paris. By the end of the Second World War, she was the Gestapo’s most wanted person. As a naïve, young journalist, Nancy Wake witnessed a horrific scene of Nazi violence […]

Book Review – THE BLIND MASSEUSE by Alden Jones

Blind Masseuse by Alden Jones

The Blind Masseuse Synopsis  A Traveler’s Memoir from Costa Rica to Cambodia Through personal journeys both interior and across the globe, Alden Jones investigates what motivates us to travel abroad in search of the unfamiliar. By way of explorations to Costa Rica, Bolivia, Nicaragua, Cuba, Burma, Cambodia, Egypt, and around the world on a ship, Jones […]