Book Review – THE HEART RADICAL by Boyd Anderson

The Heart Radical by Boyd Anderson

The Heart Radical Synopsis:  Told primarily through the captivating voice of a young girl awakening to a world at war, The Heart Radical is the stunning new novel from the author of the bestselling Amber Road. Esteemed human rights lawyer Su-Lin Tan barely recognises Professor Paris Thumboo when he delivers a history lecture in London. For the last time […]

Book Review – COCKROACHES by Jo Nesbo

Cockroaches by Jo Nesbo

Cockroaches Synopsis:  Detective Harry Hole arrives in a steaming hot Bangkok. But it’s work not pleasure. The Norwegian ambassador has been found dead in a seedy motel room, and no witnesses have come forward. The ambassador had close ties to the Norwegian Prime Minister, and to avoid a scandal Harry is sent there to hush up […]

Book Review – THE MIDNIGHT PROMISE by Zane Lovitt

The Midnight Promise by Zane Lovitt

The Midnight Promise, A Detective’s Story in Ten Cases Synopsis:  Winner, Ned Kelly Awards, Best First Fiction, 2013 A brilliant Melbourne crime novel, told in ten hardboiled stories. John Dorn is a private investigator. Just like his father used to be. It says ‘private inquiry agent’ in John’s Yellow Pages ad because that’s what his old […]

Book Review – BEYOND BELIEF by Helen Smith

Beyond Belief by Helen Smith

Beyond Belief Synopsis:  Emily Castles, spare-time private investigator, full-time desk jockey is at it again! When renowned psychic Perspicacious Peg predicts a murder will occur at England’s Belief and Beyond conference, her skeptical colleagues recruit twenty-six-year-old budding sleuth Emily to attend the event to investigate. The suspected victim is illusionist Edmund Zenon, who plans to perform […]

Book Review – WHO WE WERE by Lucy Neave

Who We Were by Lucy Neave

Who We Were Synopsis:  Set during the Cold War, Who We Were is an intimate and powerful love story about trust, obsession and the truth itself. Melbourne, 1938. Annabel’s dream is to be a scientist. Falling in love is not part of her plan. But when she meets Bill Whitton she knows instantly that they are destined for […]

Book Review – THE UNDERTAKING OF LILY CHEN by Danica Novgorodoff

The Undertaking of Lily Chen by Danica Novgorodoff

The Undertaking of Lily Chen Synopsis: In “The Undertaking of Lily Chen,” Deshi, a young man struggling to make a life for himself in rural China, watches his life comes unhinged when he accidentally kills his older brother in a fight. His distraught parents send him on a hopeless journey to acquire a bride for […]

Book Review – GOOD AMERICANS, The Human Tragedy Volume 1 by Tejas Desai

Good Americans by Tejas Desai

Good Americans Synopsis:  In the tradition of Mark Twain, Sinclair Lewis, and William Faulkner, this groundbreaking short story collection paints an uncompromising portrait of a contemporary America filled with liars and buffoons, racists and swindlers, hypocritical ideologues and emotional manipulators. An Italian-American racist receives his comeuppance from a ghetto Hispanic teenager; a blonde runaway from Florida […]

Book Review – THE DEVIL I KNOW by Claire Kilroy

The Devil I Know by Claire Kilroy

The Devil I Know Synopsis:  Claire Kilroy is a prodigious, award-winning young talent in Irish fiction, whose fresh, authoritative voice has garnered enthusiastic praise. In The Devil I Know, she delivers a delicious novel, a cautionary tale of financial excess set during the Irish property bubble. Tristram St. Lawrence has not been home for years—ever since he missed his mother’s […]

Book Review – MALICIOUS INTENT by Kathryn Fox

Malicious Intent by Kathryn Fox

Malicious Intent Synopsis:  While investigating the drug overdose of a teenage girl, pathologist and forensic physician, Dr Anya Crichton, discovers striking similarities between the case and a number of apparent suicides. All of the victims disappeared for a period of time before taking their lives in desperate circumstances. As Anya delves deeper, the pathological findings point […]