Book Review – THE CANTERVILLE GHOST by Oscar Wilde

The Canterville Ghost audio

The Canterville Ghost Synopsis : A terrifying ghost is haunting the ancient mansion of Canterville Chase, complete with creaking floorboards, clanking chains and gruesome disguises – but the new occupants seem strangely undisturbed by his presence. Deftly contrasting the conventional gothic ghost story with the pragmatism of the modern world, Wilde creates a gently comic fable of […]

Book Review – INFAMY by Lenny Bartulin

Infamy by Lenny Bartulin large

Infamy Synopsis : REWARD: Twenty gallons of Rum for the Delivery into My Custody of one Colonel George Bloody Arthur. The Reprobate’s Offences include Fraudulently Impersonating a Lieutenant Governor. For I Am the TRUE George! William Burr, the son of an English settler in South America, had a steady job hunting mahogany pirates in British Honduras. One […]

Book Review – THE QUICK by Lauren Owen

The Quick by Lauren Owen

The Quick Synopsis: For fans of Anne Rice, The Historian, and The Night Circus, an astonishing debut, a novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures up all the magic and menace of Victorian London. 1892: James Norbury, a shy would-be poet newly down from Oxford, finds lodging with a charming young aristocrat. Through this new […]

Book Review – BLADE OF THE SAMURAI by Susan Spann

Blade of the Samurai by Susan Spann

Blade of the Samurai Synopsis: June, 1565: Master ninja Hiro Hattori receives a pre-dawn visit from Kazu, a fellow shinobi working undercover at the shogunate. Hours before, the shogun’’s cousin, Saburo, was stabbed to death in the shogun’s palace. The murder weapon: Kazu’s personal dagger. Kazu says he’s innocent, and begs for Hiro’s help, but his […]

Book Review – AFTER DARKNESS by Christine Piper

After Darkness by Christine Piper

After Darkness Synopsis: The winner of The Australian/Vogel’s Literary Award 2014 It is early 1942 and Australia is in the midst of war. While working at a Japanese hospital in the pearling port of Broome, Dr Ibaraki is arrested as an enemy alien and sent to Loveday internment camp in a remote corner of South Australia. […]

Book Review – THE COLLECTOR OF DYING BREATHS by M J Rose

The Collector of Dying Breaths by MJ Rose

The Collector of Dying Breaths Synopsis:  From one of America’s most imaginative storytellers comes a passionate tale of love and treachery, spanning the days of Catherine de Medici’s court to the twenty-first century and starring a woman drawn back, time and again, to the past. In 1533, an Italian orphan with an uncanny knack for creating […]

Book Review – THE YELLOW PAPERS by Dominique Wilson

The Yellow Papers by Dominique Wilson

The Yellow Papers Synopsis:  It’s 1872 and China – still bruised from its defeat in the two Opium Wars – sends a group of boys, including seven-year-old Chen Mu, to America to study and bring back the secrets of the West. But nine years on Chen Mu becomes a fugitive and flees to Umberumberka, a mining […]

Book Review – WHIP SMART Lola Montez and the Poisoned Nom de Plume by Kit Brennan

Whip Smart 2 by Kit Brennan

WHIP SMART Lola Montez and the Poisoned Nom de Plume Synopsis:  The frothy sexy second book in the Whip Smart series opens with the gorgeous, ever-headstrong Lola Montez careening around Europe, on the run from the haunting memories of Spain and the wild adventure that nearly cost her life. It is 1844. Lola encounters celebrated pianist […]