Book Review – THE HEART RADICAL by Boyd Anderson

The Heart Radical by Boyd Anderson

The Heart Radical Synopsis:  Told primarily through the captivating voice of a young girl awakening to a world at war, The Heart Radical is the stunning new novel from the author of the bestselling Amber Road. Esteemed human rights lawyer Su-Lin Tan barely recognises Professor Paris Thumboo when he delivers a history lecture in London. For the last time […]

Book Review – WHO WE WERE by Lucy Neave

Who We Were by Lucy Neave

Who We Were Synopsis:  Set during the Cold War, Who We Were is an intimate and powerful love story about trust, obsession and the truth itself. Melbourne, 1938. Annabel’s dream is to be a scientist. Falling in love is not part of her plan. But when she meets Bill Whitton she knows instantly that they are destined for […]

Book Review – ERASMUS HOBART AND THE GOLDEN ARROW by Andrew Fish

Erasmus Hobart and the Golden Arrow by Andrew Fish

Erasmus Hobart and the Golden Arrow Synopsis:  In this time-travelling romp, Andrew Fish brings a new slant to the classic legend. Erasmus Hobart is the perfect new adventurer for fans of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett. Robin Hood was a crook! But was he as good a crook as the legends suggest? That’s what Erasmus Hobart […]

Book Review – MARKING TIME by April White

Marking Time by April White

Marking Time Synopsis:  Seventeen-year-old tagger Saira Elian can handle anything… a mother who mysteriously disappears, a stranger who stalks her around London, and even the noble English Grandmother who kicked Saira and her mother out of the family. But when an old graffiti tag in a tube station transports Saira to the 19th Century and she […]

Book Review – WATER WILL FIND ITS WAY by Bronagh Slevin

Water Will Find Its Way by Bronagh Slevin

Water Will Find Its Way Synopsis:  A bewitching tango dancer in an Argentinian brothel. An orphan seamstress lured away from the Armenian ghetto by a charming French soldier. And a mother who is struggling to overcome a legacy of shame that began the night she fled from the genocide… Seville, 1950: Many years after reunion with […]

Book Review – NANCY WAKE by Peter FitzSimons

Nancy Wake by Peter FitzSimons

Nancy Wake Synopsis  A Biography of Our Greatest War Heroine 1912-2011 In the early 1930s, Nancy Wake was a young woman enjoying a bohemian life in Paris. By the end of the Second World War, she was the Gestapo’s most wanted person. As a naïve, young journalist, Nancy Wake witnessed a horrific scene of Nazi violence […]

Book Review – MURDER ON THE EIFFEL TOWER by Claude Izner

Murder on the Eiffel Tower by Claude Izner

Murder on the Eiffel Tower Synopsis  The brand-new, shiny Eiffel Tower is the pride and glory of the 1889 World Exposition. But one sunny afternoon, as visitors are crowding the viewing platforms, a woman collapses and dies on this great Paris landmark. Can a bee sting really be the cause of death? Or is there a more sinister […]

Book Review – THE TWO HOTEL FRANCFORTS by David Leavitt

The Two Hotel Francforts by David Leavitt

The Two Hotel Francforts Synopsis: It is the summer of 1940, and Lisbon is one of the only neutral ports left in Europe – a city filled with spies, crowned heads and refugees of every nationality, tipping back absinthe to while away the time until their escape. Awaiting safe passage to New York on the S. S. […]

Book Beginning – NANCY WAKE, A Biography by Peter FitzSimons

Nancy Wake by Peter FitzSimons

Nancy Wake Synopsis In the early 1930s, Nancy Wake was a young woman enjoying a bohemian life in Paris. By the end of the Second World War, she was the Gestapo’s most wanted person. As a naïve, young journalist, Nancy Wake witnessed a horrific scene of Nazi violence in a Viennese street. From that moment, […]

Book Review & Giveaway – JUNO & HANNAH by Beryl Fletcher

Juno & Hannah by Beryl Fletcher

Juno & Hannah Synopsis  1920, deep in the New Zealand bush, a settlement of Christian fundamentalists live a life of austerity and isolation.  It is a place where there is little space for compassion, particularly for the women who can never rid themselves of Eve’s original sin. The elders rule over the women, children and young […]