Book Review – GOOD AMERICANS, The Human Tragedy Volume 1 by Tejas Desai

Good Americans by Tejas Desai

Good Americans Synopsis:  In the tradition of Mark Twain, Sinclair Lewis, and William Faulkner, this groundbreaking short story collection paints an uncompromising portrait of a contemporary America filled with liars and buffoons, racists and swindlers, hypocritical ideologues and emotional manipulators. An Italian-American racist receives his comeuppance from a ghetto Hispanic teenager; a blonde runaway from Florida […]

Book Review – THE DEVIL I KNOW by Claire Kilroy

The Devil I Know by Claire Kilroy

The Devil I Know Synopsis:  Claire Kilroy is a prodigious, award-winning young talent in Irish fiction, whose fresh, authoritative voice has garnered enthusiastic praise. In The Devil I Know, she delivers a delicious novel, a cautionary tale of financial excess set during the Irish property bubble. Tristram St. Lawrence has not been home for years—ever since he missed his mother’s […]

Book Review – THE THIEF by Fuminori Nakamura

The Thief by Fuminori Nakamura

The Thief Synopsis:  The Thief is a seasoned pickpocket. Anonymous in his tailored suit, he weaves in and out of Tokyo crowds, stealing wallets from strangers so smoothly sometimes he doesn’t even remember the snatch. Most people are just a blur to him, nameless faces from whom he chooses his victims. He has no family, no […]

Book Review – THE DIVING POOL by Yoko Ogawa

The Diving Pool by Yoko Ogawa

The Diving Pool Synopsis:  Beautiful, twisted and brilliant – discover Yoko Ogawa. A lonely teenage girl falls in love with her foster-brother as she watches him leap from a high diving board into a pool – sparking an unspoken infatuation that draws out darker possibilities. A young woman records the daily moods of her pregnant sister […]

Book Review – BRUNO KRAMZER by A S Patric

Bruno Kramzer by A S Patric

Bruno Kramzer Synopsis:  “Someone must have traduced Joseph K., for without having done anything wrong he was arrested one fine morning.” So begins The Trial by Franz Kafka. Bruno Kramzer is the story of the man sent to arrest Joseph K. “A study of evil at once deceptively simple and tremendously engaging. Bruno Kramzer’s strange and […]

Book Review and Giveaway – BRAND-CHANGING DAY by Shawn Mihalik

Brand Changing Day by Shawn Mihalik

Brand-Changing Day Synopsis:  In the world of the casual American chain restaurant, brand-changing day signifies the start of something new—new menu items are rolled out, logos are redesigned, service procedures are updated, and old uniforms are traded for hipper, darker, flashier styles. But for employees at The Grill in Youngstown, Ohio—including twenty-something server Scott Pelletier and […]

Book Review & Giveaway – JUNO & HANNAH by Beryl Fletcher

Juno & Hannah by Beryl Fletcher

Juno & Hannah Synopsis  1920, deep in the New Zealand bush, a settlement of Christian fundamentalists live a life of austerity and isolation.  It is a place where there is little space for compassion, particularly for the women who can never rid themselves of Eve’s original sin. The elders rule over the women, children and young […]

Book Review – THE TRIAL by Franz Kafka

The Trial by Franz Kafka

The Trial Synopsis: The terrifying tale of Joseph K, a respectable functionary in a bank, who is suddenly arrested and must defend his innocence against a charge about which he can get no information. A nightmare vision of the excesses of modern bureaucracy wedded to the mad agendas of twentieth-century totalitarian regimes. (Booktopia) Translated from the original […]