Book Review – A TABBY-CAT’S TALE by Han Dong

A Tabby-cat's Tale by Han Dong

A Tabby-cat’s Tale Synopsis: Tabby isn’t an ordinary house-cat. Though he’s the most beautiful, captivating animal to grace the rooftops of Nanjing, Tabby is also prone to unpredictable outbursts of clawing and scratching, and to raging incontinence, and he has a slightly out-of-control flea problem. But he is beloved. And despite the trouble he causes with […]

Book Review – THE QUICK by Lauren Owen

The Quick by Lauren Owen

The Quick Synopsis: For fans of Anne Rice, The Historian, and The Night Circus, an astonishing debut, a novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures up all the magic and menace of Victorian London. 1892: James Norbury, a shy would-be poet newly down from Oxford, finds lodging with a charming young aristocrat. Through this new […]

Winners of my Literary Blog Hop Giveaway

literarybloghopJune

It was a pleasure to be a part of the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop (21-25 June 2014) once again kindly organised by Judith @ Leeswammes’ Blog. The books on offer here at Booklover Book Reviews were recently released translated titles courtesy of niche, digital-only publishers  Frisch & Co and Ox and Pigeon. Family Heirlooms by Zulmira Ribeiro Tavares (Frisch & Co) […]

Literary Book Giveaway Blog Hop – Translated Literature

literarybloghopJune

Booklover Book Reviews is excited to be a part of the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop (21-25 June 2014) once again kindly organised by Judith @ Leeswammes’ Blog. During the hop more than 30 different book blogs will be offering one or more giveaways of books or bookish items. All books will be literary fiction or something […]

Book Review – AFTER DARKNESS by Christine Piper

After Darkness by Christine Piper

After Darkness Synopsis: The winner of The Australian/Vogel’s Literary Award 2014 It is early 1942 and Australia is in the midst of war. While working at a Japanese hospital in the pearling port of Broome, Dr Ibaraki is arrested as an enemy alien and sent to Loveday internment camp in a remote corner of South Australia. […]

Book Review – LADY WINDERMERE’S FAN by Oscar Wilde

Lady Windermere's Fan by Oscar Wilde audio

Lady Windermere’s Fan Synopsis: Oscar Wilde’s first play confronts the hypocrisy of public “morality” compared with genuine, private kindness. When it opened in 1892, Lady Windermere’s Fan was an instant success and now, more than a century later, it continues to be revived frequently. The reasons for its popularity are not difficult to identify: the play’s […]

Book Review – BALD NEW WORLD by Peter Tieryas Liu

Bald New World by Peter Tieryas Liu

Bald New World Synopsis: What if you woke up one morning and everyone in the world lost their hair? In Bald New World, that very event happens and overnight, religion, politics, and fashion undergo dramatic shifts. Nick Guan and his friend Larry Chao are a pair of eccentric filmmakers who choose to explore the existential angst […]

Book Review – MY SALINGER YEAR by Joanna Rakoff

My Salinger Year by Joanna Smith Rakoff

My Salinger Year Synopsis: At twenty-three, after leaving graduate school to pursue her dreams of becoming a poet, Joanna Rakoff moves to New York City and takes a job as assistant to the storied literary agent for J. D. Salinger. She spends her days in the plush, wood-panelled agency, where Dictaphones and typewriters still reign and […]