Book Review – THE ROSIE EFFECT by Graeme Simsion

The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion large

The Rosie Effect Synopsis : ‘We’ve got something to celebrate,’ Rosie said. I am not fond of surprises, especially if they disrupt plans already in place. I assumed that she had achieved some important milestone with her thesis. Or perhaps she had been offered a place in the psychiatry-training programme. This would be extremely good news, and […]

Book Review – THE CANTERVILLE GHOST by Oscar Wilde

The Canterville Ghost audio

The Canterville Ghost Synopsis : A terrifying ghost is haunting the ancient mansion of Canterville Chase, complete with creaking floorboards, clanking chains and gruesome disguises – but the new occupants seem strangely undisturbed by his presence. Deftly contrasting the conventional gothic ghost story with the pragmatism of the modern world, Wilde creates a gently comic fable of […]

Book Review – INFAMY by Lenny Bartulin

Infamy by Lenny Bartulin large

Infamy Synopsis : REWARD: Twenty gallons of Rum for the Delivery into My Custody of one Colonel George Bloody Arthur. The Reprobate’s Offences include Fraudulently Impersonating a Lieutenant Governor. For I Am the TRUE George! William Burr, the son of an English settler in South America, had a steady job hunting mahogany pirates in British Honduras. One […]

Book Review – A TABBY-CAT’S TALE by Han Dong

A Tabby-cat's Tale by Han Dong

A Tabby-cat’s Tale Synopsis: Tabby isn’t an ordinary house-cat. Though he’s the most beautiful, captivating animal to grace the rooftops of Nanjing, Tabby is also prone to unpredictable outbursts of clawing and scratching, and to raging incontinence, and he has a slightly out-of-control flea problem. But he is beloved. And despite the trouble he causes with […]

Book Review – THE QUICK by Lauren Owen

The Quick by Lauren Owen

The Quick Synopsis: For fans of Anne Rice, The Historian, and The Night Circus, an astonishing debut, a novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures up all the magic and menace of Victorian London. 1892: James Norbury, a shy would-be poet newly down from Oxford, finds lodging with a charming young aristocrat. Through this new […]

Winners of my Literary Blog Hop Giveaway

literarybloghopJune

It was a pleasure to be a part of the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop (21-25 June 2014) once again kindly organised by Judith @ Leeswammes’ Blog. The books on offer here at Booklover Book Reviews were recently released translated titles courtesy of niche, digital-only publishers  Frisch & Co and Ox and Pigeon. Family Heirlooms by Zulmira Ribeiro Tavares (Frisch & Co) […]

Literary Book Giveaway Blog Hop – Translated Literature

literarybloghopJune

Booklover Book Reviews is excited to be a part of the Literary Giveaway Blog Hop (21-25 June 2014) once again kindly organised by Judith @ Leeswammes’ Blog. During the hop more than 30 different book blogs will be offering one or more giveaways of books or bookish items. All books will be literary fiction or something […]

Book Review – AFTER DARKNESS by Christine Piper

After Darkness by Christine Piper

After Darkness Synopsis: The winner of The Australian/Vogel’s Literary Award 2014 It is early 1942 and Australia is in the midst of war. While working at a Japanese hospital in the pearling port of Broome, Dr Ibaraki is arrested as an enemy alien and sent to Loveday internment camp in a remote corner of South Australia. […]