Book Review – THE ACCIDENT by Chris Pavone

The Accident by Chris Pavone

The Accident Synopsis:  From the author of the New York Times-bestselling and Edgar Award-winning The Expats As dawn approaches in New York, literary agent Isabel Reed is turning the final pages of a mysterious, anonymous manuscript, racing through the explosive revelations about powerful people, as well as long-hidden secrets about her own past. In Copenhagen, veteran CIA operative […]

Book Review – THE HEART RADICAL by Boyd Anderson

The Heart Radical by Boyd Anderson

The Heart Radical Synopsis:  Told primarily through the captivating voice of a young girl awakening to a world at war, The Heart Radical is the stunning new novel from the author of the bestselling Amber Road. Esteemed human rights lawyer Su-Lin Tan barely recognises Professor Paris Thumboo when he delivers a history lecture in London. For the last time […]

Book Review – BEYOND BELIEF by Helen Smith

Beyond Belief by Helen Smith

Beyond Belief Synopsis:  Emily Castles, spare-time private investigator, full-time desk jockey is at it again! When renowned psychic Perspicacious Peg predicts a murder will occur at England’s Belief and Beyond conference, her skeptical colleagues recruit twenty-six-year-old budding sleuth Emily to attend the event to investigate. The suspected victim is illusionist Edmund Zenon, who plans to perform […]

Book Review – WHO WE WERE by Lucy Neave

Who We Were by Lucy Neave

Who We Were Synopsis:  Set during the Cold War, Who We Were is an intimate and powerful love story about trust, obsession and the truth itself. Melbourne, 1938. Annabel’s dream is to be a scientist. Falling in love is not part of her plan. But when she meets Bill Whitton she knows instantly that they are destined for […]

Book Review – ERASMUS HOBART AND THE GOLDEN ARROW by Andrew Fish

Erasmus Hobart and the Golden Arrow by Andrew Fish

Erasmus Hobart and the Golden Arrow Synopsis:  In this time-travelling romp, Andrew Fish brings a new slant to the classic legend. Erasmus Hobart is the perfect new adventurer for fans of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett. Robin Hood was a crook! But was he as good a crook as the legends suggest? That’s what Erasmus Hobart […]

Book Review – THE DEVIL I KNOW by Claire Kilroy

The Devil I Know by Claire Kilroy

The Devil I Know Synopsis:  Claire Kilroy is a prodigious, award-winning young talent in Irish fiction, whose fresh, authoritative voice has garnered enthusiastic praise. In The Devil I Know, she delivers a delicious novel, a cautionary tale of financial excess set during the Irish property bubble. Tristram St. Lawrence has not been home for years—ever since he missed his mother’s […]

Book Review – MALICIOUS INTENT by Kathryn Fox

Malicious Intent by Kathryn Fox

Malicious Intent Synopsis:  While investigating the drug overdose of a teenage girl, pathologist and forensic physician, Dr Anya Crichton, discovers striking similarities between the case and a number of apparent suicides. All of the victims disappeared for a period of time before taking their lives in desperate circumstances. As Anya delves deeper, the pathological findings point […]

Book Review – THE DIVING POOL by Yoko Ogawa

The Diving Pool by Yoko Ogawa

The Diving Pool Synopsis:  Beautiful, twisted and brilliant – discover Yoko Ogawa. A lonely teenage girl falls in love with her foster-brother as she watches him leap from a high diving board into a pool – sparking an unspoken infatuation that draws out darker possibilities. A young woman records the daily moods of her pregnant sister […]

Book Review – THE HIPPOPOTAMUS by Stephen Fry

The Hippopotamus by Stephen Fry

The Hippopotamus Synopsis:  Ted Wallace is an old, sour, womanising, cantankerous, whisky-sodden beast of a failed poet and drama critic, but he has his faults too. Fired from his newspaper, months behind on his alimony payments, and disgusted with a world that undervalues him, Ted seeks a few months repose and free drink at Swafford Hall, […]