Book Review – GOOD AMERICANS, The Human Tragedy Volume 1 by Tejas Desai

Good Americans by Tejas Desai

Good Americans Synopsis:  In the tradition of Mark Twain, Sinclair Lewis, and William Faulkner, this groundbreaking short story collection paints an uncompromising portrait of a contemporary America filled with liars and buffoons, racists and swindlers, hypocritical ideologues and emotional manipulators. An Italian-American racist receives his comeuppance from a ghetto Hispanic teenager; a blonde runaway from Florida […]

Book Review – THE DIVING POOL by Yoko Ogawa

The Diving Pool by Yoko Ogawa

The Diving Pool Synopsis:  Beautiful, twisted and brilliant – discover Yoko Ogawa. A lonely teenage girl falls in love with her foster-brother as she watches him leap from a high diving board into a pool – sparking an unspoken infatuation that draws out darker possibilities. A young woman records the daily moods of her pregnant sister […]

Book Review – I STOLE THE RAIN by Elisa Ruotolo

I Stole the Rain by Elisa Ruotolo

I Stole the Rain Synopsis: I Stole the Rain tells a trio of unforgettable stories from the superstitious Italian province of Campania, where fizzy drinks are delivered by cart, old women sell gold to a furtive clientele, and the tobacconist’s daughter is a prize beyond imagining. In “I am Super Legend,” a local team of […]

Book Beginning and Review – CUTTING RIGHT TO THE CHASE by Stefania Mattana

Cutting Right to the Chase Vol1 by Stefania Mattana

Cutting Right to the Chase Synopsis Chase Williams’s life seems to be filled with crimes and mysteries to solve, even if he is not working at Scotland Yard anymore. In Tursenia, a pretty, Medieval city in the heart of Italy, Chase tries to live a normal life as an import/export executive for an international cashmere firm, […]

Book Review – LET’S EXPLORE DIABETES WITH OWLS by David Sedaris

Let's Explore Diabetes with Owls by David Sedaris

Let’s Explore Diabetes with Owls  Synopsis From the unique perspective of David Sedaris comes a new book of essays taking his readers on a bizarre and stimulating world tour. From the perils of French dentistry to the eating habits of the Australian kookaburra, from the squat-style toilets of Beijing to the particular wilderness of a […]

Book Review – RIDING THE TRAINS IN JAPAN by Patrick Holland

Riding the Trains in Japan by Patrick Holland

Riding the Trains in Japan Synopsis Travels in the Sacred and Supermodern East Arriving late in Kyoto Patrick Holland cannot find a room for the night. Homeless and disorientated and in a place where loitering is not encouraged his only solution is to ride the trains. The train journey becomes a thread in book that […]

Book Review – THIS IS PARADISE by Kristiana Kahakauwila

This Is Paradise by Kristiana Kahakauwila

Today Booklover Book Reviews is hosting the TLC Book Tour for the recently released story collection This is Paradise by Kristiana Kahakauwila. Synopsis Elegant, brutal, and profound—this magnificent debut captures the grit and glory of modern Hawai’i with breathtaking force and accuracy. In a stunning collection that announces the arrival of an incredible talent, Kristiana […]

Winner of international giveaway of SURVIVAL SKILLS by Jean Ryan

Survival Skills by Jean Ryan

Ashland Creek Press were kind enough to offer an ebook copy of the short story collection SURVIVAL SKILLS by Jean Ryan for giveaway to one lucky reader of Booklover Book Reviews. The winner is Janet Congratulations Janet – please check your inbox for my email requesting your preferred ebook file type. Thanks to everyone who helped […]

Short Stories by Aussie Authors – Peter Temple, Diana Hockley and Mary-Rose MacColl

Ithaca in My Mind by Peter Temple

The success of ebook publishing has now made single short story publication commercially viable. If you take a look around there are some great little inexpensive morsels showcasing the work of both well known names and those looking to break through. During May, Short Story Month, I have read three single short stories / novellas […]

The Ready Feast – Guest Post by Jean Ryan, author of Survival Skills short story collection

Survival Skills by Jean Ryan

I recently had the pleasure of reading a short story collection titled Survival Skills written by Jean Ryan. From my review: ‘Survival Skills is one of the more unique offerings I have come across in my recent quest to read more short story collections. The collection consists of 13 standalone stories ranging from 6 to […]