Book Review – COCKROACHES by Jo Nesbo

Cockroaches by Jo Nesbo

Cockroaches Synopsis:  Detective Harry Hole arrives in a steaming hot Bangkok. But it’s work not pleasure. The Norwegian ambassador has been found dead in a seedy motel room, and no witnesses have come forward. The ambassador had close ties to the Norwegian Prime Minister, and to avoid a scandal Harry is sent there to hush up […]

Book Review – BEYOND BELIEF by Helen Smith

Beyond Belief by Helen Smith

Beyond Belief Synopsis:  Emily Castles, spare-time private investigator, full-time desk jockey is at it again! When renowned psychic Perspicacious Peg predicts a murder will occur at England’s Belief and Beyond conference, her skeptical colleagues recruit twenty-six-year-old budding sleuth Emily to attend the event to investigate. The suspected victim is illusionist Edmund Zenon, who plans to perform […]

Book Review – WHO WE WERE by Lucy Neave

Who We Were by Lucy Neave

Who We Were Synopsis:  Set during the Cold War, Who We Were is an intimate and powerful love story about trust, obsession and the truth itself. Melbourne, 1938. Annabel’s dream is to be a scientist. Falling in love is not part of her plan. But when she meets Bill Whitton she knows instantly that they are destined for […]

Book Review – ERASMUS HOBART AND THE GOLDEN ARROW by Andrew Fish

Erasmus Hobart and the Golden Arrow by Andrew Fish

Erasmus Hobart and the Golden Arrow Synopsis:  In this time-travelling romp, Andrew Fish brings a new slant to the classic legend. Erasmus Hobart is the perfect new adventurer for fans of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett. Robin Hood was a crook! But was he as good a crook as the legends suggest? That’s what Erasmus Hobart […]

Book Review – MARKING TIME by April White

Marking Time by April White

Marking Time Synopsis:  Seventeen-year-old tagger Saira Elian can handle anything… a mother who mysteriously disappears, a stranger who stalks her around London, and even the noble English Grandmother who kicked Saira and her mother out of the family. But when an old graffiti tag in a tube station transports Saira to the 19th Century and she […]

Book Review – MALICIOUS INTENT by Kathryn Fox

Malicious Intent by Kathryn Fox

Malicious Intent Synopsis:  While investigating the drug overdose of a teenage girl, pathologist and forensic physician, Dr Anya Crichton, discovers striking similarities between the case and a number of apparent suicides. All of the victims disappeared for a period of time before taking their lives in desperate circumstances. As Anya delves deeper, the pathological findings point […]

Book Review – THE THIEF by Fuminori Nakamura

The Thief by Fuminori Nakamura

The Thief Synopsis:  The Thief is a seasoned pickpocket. Anonymous in his tailored suit, he weaves in and out of Tokyo crowds, stealing wallets from strangers so smoothly sometimes he doesn’t even remember the snatch. Most people are just a blur to him, nameless faces from whom he chooses his victims. He has no family, no […]

Book Review – THE HIPPOPOTAMUS by Stephen Fry

The Hippopotamus by Stephen Fry

The Hippopotamus Synopsis:  Ted Wallace is an old, sour, womanising, cantankerous, whisky-sodden beast of a failed poet and drama critic, but he has his faults too. Fired from his newspaper, months behind on his alimony payments, and disgusted with a world that undervalues him, Ted seeks a few months repose and free drink at Swafford Hall, […]

Book Review – WATER WILL FIND ITS WAY by Bronagh Slevin

Water Will Find Its Way by Bronagh Slevin

Water Will Find Its Way Synopsis:  A bewitching tango dancer in an Argentinian brothel. An orphan seamstress lured away from the Armenian ghetto by a charming French soldier. And a mother who is struggling to overcome a legacy of shame that began the night she fled from the genocide… Seville, 1950: Many years after reunion with […]

Book Review – BRUNO KRAMZER by A S Patric

Bruno Kramzer by A S Patric

Bruno Kramzer Synopsis:  “Someone must have traduced Joseph K., for without having done anything wrong he was arrested one fine morning.” So begins The Trial by Franz Kafka. Bruno Kramzer is the story of the man sent to arrest Joseph K. “A study of evil at once deceptively simple and tremendously engaging. Bruno Kramzer’s strange and […]