Book Recommendations

Book releases that have caught my eye – May 2015

Here are just a few of the titles being released in Australia in May 2015 (or very late April) that have caught my eye.

A God in Ruins by Kate AtkinsonA God in Ruins  by Kate Atkinson

The much anticipated companion to Atkinson’s 2014 bestseller Life After After.

“A novel so sublime I would nominate it to represent all books in the Art Olympics. The afterword deserves a literary prize all to itself. It is, as claimed on the sumptuous proof, even better than Life After Life.” — The Bookseller

Available from:
Book Depository | Amazon | Booktopia(Aus) | Kobobooks | B&N

Disclosure: If you click a link in this post and make a purchase, I may earn a small commission.

Muse by Jonathan GalassiMuse  by Jonathan Galassi

Written by an industry insider, this novel is described as ‘a hilarious and touching love letter to the people who write, sell – and, above all, read – the books that shape our lives’.

“A witty, elegant, tons-of-fun debut novel. Jonathan Galassi has got all the dirt on the publishing industry and he is ready to dish. But he also takes us from Union Square and a hideaway country cottage to Venice, for a love story all his own.” — Gary Shteyngart

Available from:
Book Depository | Amazon | Booktopia(Aus) | B&N

lives lostLives Lost  by Britta Bolt

The follow up to the first book in the Pieter Posthumus Mystery Series, Lonely Graves.

A murder in Amsterdam’s red light district leads Posthumus to uncover a tragic tale from the past, in a gripping Dutch crime novel perfect for fans of Donna Leon, Michael Dibdin and Fred Vargas.

“The main character is a very appealing, convincing and enthralling creation with a truly bizarre occupation…As with Morse, the city where the action takes place becomes one of the main characters…a compelling story that leaves you wanting to hear more about Pieter’s work and his life – and how the city copes with its marvellous mix of eccentrics and dangers.” — We Love This Book

Available from:
Book Depository | Amazon | Booktopia(Aus) | Kobobooks


Always a Book Sale at BookCloseouts.com

princess bariPrincess Bari  by Hwang Sok-yong

Hwang Sok-yong has transfigured an age-old legend and made it vividly relevant to our own times… it’s just impossible to avoid falling in love with Hwang’s resilient heroine, a figure of compassion and perplexity in equal measure.

“Hwang Sok-yong is undoubtedly the most powerful voice of the novel in Asia today” — Kenzaburo Oe, winner of the 1994 Nobel Prize for Literature

Available from:
Book Depository | Amazon | Booktopia(Aus)

war of the encyclopaedistsWar of the Encyclopaedists  by Christopher Robinson & Gavin Kovite

In a superb, rare literary collaboration, two major new talents join their voices to tell the story of a generation at a crossroads, and a friendship that stretches over continents and crises-from the liberal arena of Boston academia to the military occupation of Iraq-in this ambitious and electrifying debut novel.

“A gripping, thoughtful read… Moving and memorable.” — Publishers Weekly

Available from:
Book Depository | Amazon | Booktopia(Aus) | KobobooksB&N

the reader on the 6 27The Reader on the 6.27  by Jean-Paul Didierlaurent

An irresistible French sensation – Mr Penumbra’s 24-hour Bookstore meets AmelieThe Reader on the 6.27 explores the power of books through the lives of the people they save. It is sure to capture the hearts of book lovers everywhere.

“The humanity of the characters … the re-enchantment of everyday life, the power of words and literature, tenderness and humor … The Reader on the 6.27 is a must.” — L’Express

Available from:
Book Depository | Amazon | Booktopia(Aus) | Kobobooks

Resistance is Futile by Jenny T ColganResistance is Futile  by Jenny T Colgan

“… funny, romantic and just the right side of geeky. Set phasers to ‘fun’…” — Danny Wallace, comedian

“I never knew I could so enjoy a book about maths, amphibians and total world annihilation. Quirky, funny and romantic, and it doesn’t even matter if you don’t know what fractals are.” — Sophie Kinsella

Available from:
Book Depository | Amazon | Booktopia(Aus) | Kobobooks