Sci-Fi-Fantasy

THE WILD GIRL by Kate Forsyth, Review: Beauty and nuance

THE WILD GIRL by Kate Forsyth, Review: Beauty and nuance

The Wild Girl Synopsis Dortchen Wild fell in love with Wilhelm Grimm the first time she saw him. Growing up in the German kingdom of Hessen-Cassel in the early nineteenth century, Dortchen Wild is irresistibly drawn to the boy next…

Book Review – AS THE LIGHTNING COMES by Svensk Oob

Book Review – AS THE LIGHTNING COMES by Svensk Oob

As The Lightning Comes Synopsis This fast paced adventure is like The Bible Code meets The Chariots of the Gods. It weaves together the fascinating themes of ancient astronauts, angel visitations, hidden Bible codes and end time prophecies, with an…

Book Review – THE MIRACLE INSPECTOR by Helen Smith

Book Review – THE MIRACLE INSPECTOR by Helen Smith

The Miracle Inspector Synopsis A darkly comic dystopian novel set in the near future. England has been partitioned and London is an oppressive place where poetry has been forced underground, theatres and schools are shut, and women are not allowed…

THE SCREAM by Laurent Graff, Book Review

THE SCREAM by Laurent Graff, Book Review

The Scream Synopsis  The apparently simple story of a toll-collector who works in a booth on the motorway, watching people come and go, while his life remains static. But then an invisable force begins taking over, its only tell-tale sign, a…

THE TIME KEEPER by Mitch Albom, Book Review

THE TIME KEEPER by Mitch Albom, Book Review

The Time Keeper Synopsis From the author who’s inspired millions worldwide with books like Tuesdays with Morrie and The Five People You Meet in Heaven comes his most imaginative novel yet, The Time Keeper — a compelling fable about the first man on earth to count the…

Book Review – BLOOD ZERO SKY by J Gabriel Gates

Book Review – BLOOD ZERO SKY by J Gabriel Gates

Today Booklover Book Reviews is hosting the TLC Book Tour for Blood Zero Sky by J Gabriel Gates. Blood Zero Sky  Synopsis Unprofitables are banished to work camps to pay off their credit. Other tie-men and women look on apathetically. Fair…

Book Review – SNAP NEW TALENT by Michele Drier

Book Review – SNAP NEW TALENT by Michele Drier

SNAP New Talent Synopsis In the second book of the SNAP Kandesky vampire series, Maxie Gwenoch, media-savvy editor of the multinational celeb gossip magazine SNAP, is pummeled in Paris and kidnapped in Kiev as the Huszars ramp up the race to…

SHINE SHINE SHINE by Lydia Netzer, Book Review: Original voice

SHINE SHINE SHINE by Lydia Netzer, Book Review: Original voice

Shine Shine Shine Synopsis When Maxon met Sunny, he was seven years, four months, and eighteen-days old. Or, he was 2693 rotations of the earth old. Maxon was different. Sunny was different. They were different together. Now, twenty years later, they…

Book Review – LOVE and Other Stories by Lucille Redmond

Book Review – LOVE and Other Stories by Lucille Redmond

Love  Synopsis Love is a collection of short stories, ranging from Elsewhen, in which an alternative Muslim Ireland is the home to a doomed love affair, to Wolf and Water, a Stone Age adventure, to And the Green Sea Ebbs Away, among colonists and…

CATCHING FIRE by Suzanne Collins, Hunger Games Book #2

CATCHING FIRE by Suzanne Collins, Hunger Games Book #2

Catching Fire is the second book in Suzanne Collins’ ground-breaking Hunger Games trilogy. But is it as good as the first novel? Read our full review. Catching Fire (The Hunger Games Book 2) Synopsis After winning the brutal Hunger Games, Katniss…

Book Review – THE FURNACE by Timothy S Johnston

Book Review – THE FURNACE by Timothy S Johnston

The Furnace Synopsis In the tradition of THE THING and INVASION OF THE BODY SNATCHERS. As a Homicide Investigator working the solar system’s most remote outposts, Lieutenant Kyle Tanner has been involved in more criminal investigations and captures than any other…

BITTER GREENS by Kate Forsyth, Review: Beauty & gravitas

BITTER GREENS by Kate Forsyth, Review: Beauty & gravitas

Kate Forsyth’s Bitter Greens was a Library Journal Best Book of 2014: Historical Fiction. Bitter Greens Synopsis Charlotte-Rose de la Force has been banished from court by the Sun King, Louis XIV, after a series of scandalous love affairs. She is comforted…