Book Review – THE QUICK by Lauren Owen

The Quick by Lauren Owen

The Quick Synopsis: For fans of Anne Rice, The Historian, and The Night Circus, an astonishing debut, a novel of epic scope and suspense that conjures up all the magic and menace of Victorian London. 1892: James Norbury, a shy would-be poet newly down from Oxford, finds lodging with a charming young aristocrat. Through this new […]

Book Review – BALD NEW WORLD by Peter Tieryas Liu

Bald New World by Peter Tieryas Liu

Bald New World Synopsis: What if you woke up one morning and everyone in the world lost their hair? In Bald New World, that very event happens and overnight, religion, politics, and fashion undergo dramatic shifts. Nick Guan and his friend Larry Chao are a pair of eccentric filmmakers who choose to explore the existential angst […]

Book Review – DIRK GENTLY’S HOLISTIC DETECTIVE AGENCY by Douglas Adams

Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency by Douglas Adams

Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency Synopsis:  Dirk Gently has an unshakeable belief in the interconnectedness of all things, but his Holistic Detective Agency mainly succeeds in tracking down missing cats for old ladies. Then Dirk stumbles upon an old friend behaving bizarrely – and he’s drawn into a four-billion-year-old mystery that must be solved if the […]

Book Review – THE COLLECTOR OF DYING BREATHS by M J Rose

The Collector of Dying Breaths by MJ Rose

The Collector of Dying Breaths Synopsis:  From one of America’s most imaginative storytellers comes a passionate tale of love and treachery, spanning the days of Catherine de Medici’s court to the twenty-first century and starring a woman drawn back, time and again, to the past. In 1533, an Italian orphan with an uncanny knack for creating […]

Book Review – MARKING TIME by April White

Marking Time by April White

Marking Time Synopsis:  Seventeen-year-old tagger Saira Elian can handle anything… a mother who mysteriously disappears, a stranger who stalks her around London, and even the noble English Grandmother who kicked Saira and her mother out of the family. But when an old graffiti tag in a tube station transports Saira to the 19th Century and she […]

Book Review – THE SHINING GIRLS by Lauren Beukes

The Shining Girls by Lauren Beukes

The Shining Girls Synopsis THE GIRL WHO WOULDN’T DIE HUNTS THE KILLER WHO SHOULDN’T EXIST. “The future is not as loud as war, but it is relentless. It has a terrible fury all its own.”  Harper Curtis is a killer who stepped out of the past. Kirby Mazrachi is the girl who was never meant to […]

Book Review – THE FLUTE PLAYER by Shawn Mihalik

The Flute Player by Shawn Mihalik

The Flute Player Synopsis For nearly ten years, young Oliver has begrudgingly accepted his position as the flute player of the peaceful village of Drommar—a responsibility thrust upon him after the previous flute player, and Oliver’s best friend, drowned in a tragic childhood accident. Now on the cusp of adulthood, a mysterious young woman enters […]

Book Review – THE ROOK by Daniel O’Malley

The Rook by Daniel O'Malley - audio

The Rook Synopsis “The body you are wearing used to be mine.” So begins the letter Myfanwy Thomas is holding when she awakes in a London park surrounded by bodies all wearing latex gloves. With no recollection of who she is, Myfanwy must follow the instructions her former self left behind to discover her identity and […]

Book Review – MR PENUMBRA’S 24 HOUR BOOKSTORE by Robin Sloan

Mr Penumbra's 24 Hour Bookstore by Robin Sloan

Mr Penumbra’s 24 Hour Bookstore Synopsis A gleeful and exhilarating tale of global conspiracy, complex code-breaking, high-tech data visualization, young love, rollicking adventure, and the secret to eternal life — mostly set in a hole-in-the-wall San Francisco bookstore. The Great Recession has shuffled Clay Jannon out of his life as a San Francisco Web-design drone […]

Book Review – SEDUCTION by M J Rose

Seduction by M J Rose

Seduction Synopsis From the author of The Book of Lost Fragrances comes a haunting novel about a grieving woman who discovers the lost journal of novelist Victor Hugo, awakening a mystery that spans centuries In 1843, novelist Victor Hugo’s beloved nineteen-year-old daughter drowned. Ten years later, Hugo began participating in hundreds of séances to reestablish […]