New Book Releases 2024: Our top fiction picks by month

Buckle up bookworms. In terms of new book releases, 2024 has much to offer. This list will have your reading pile groaning with excitement and you might just need a bigger bookshelf.

New Book Releases 2024, our top fiction picks by month

Now there are a lot of highly anticipated books lists out there, but who has time to read them all, right? Realistically you cannot read every new book 2024 has to offer, you want to zero in on the best novels. So we’ll be exploring the publishing horizon for you, gathering together the most promising fiction titles, and curating a diverse selection of 2024’s new release books bi-monthly that’ll satisfy any reading appetite.

So, grab a steaming mug of your go-to beverage, and dive into our guide to the best books coming out this year. Get ready to discover your next favourite author, revisit old friends with fresh stories, and lose yourself in worlds you never knew existed. Happy reading!

Top New Book Releases, 2024

Disclosure: If you click a link in this post and make a purchase, I may earn a small commission.

New Books 2024, January & February

In Hannah Richell’s new novel The Search Party, a Cornwall glamping retreat turns deadly when a storm traps reunion guests, ignites old secrets, and one vanishes, forcing everyone to confront the darkness within and fight for their families. This multi-perspective thriller explores the fragile bonds of friendship and the desperate choices we make for those we love. Recommended for fans of Lucy Foley and Agatha Christie. (Review & Book Club Questions | Book Details | Libro.fm)

A literary collaboration from bestselling historical fiction authors Kate Quinn and Janie Chang, The Phoenix Crown, is set in 1906 San Francisco and follows two women, a soprano and a Chinatown embroideress. Their lives, intertwining with that of their patron, a charming railroad magnate with an extraordinary collection of Chinese antiques, are thrown into turmoil when an earthquake strikes and he disappears, setting them on a quest for justice. (My Review | Book Details | Libro.fm)

In Gareth Brown’s debut fantasy novel, Cassie, a New York bookseller is gifted The Book of Doors, granting her the power to travel anywhere. Soon, she and friend Izzy embark on fantastical adventures, but others crave what Cassie now possesses. Suddenly they are confronted by violence and danger, and the only person who can help them is, it seems, is Drummond Fox, a man with his own secret library who is fleeing his own demons. ( Book Details | Libro.fm )

The Warm Hands of Ghosts is a new historical novel with a speculative twist from Katherine Arden, bestselling author of The Bear and the Nightingale. In Flanders, Belgium late in the Great War, a soldier Freddie awakens after an explosion to find himself trapped in an overturned pillbox with a wounded enemy soldier. Meanwhile discharged combat nurse Laura searches for her soldier brother Freddie, believed dead despite eerie signs that suggest otherwise. ( Book Details | Libro.fm)

In 2010, Jasper Fforde (The Eyre Affair, Early Riser) published his cult-classic literary fantasy novel Shades of Grey, set in a world where social hierarchy is determined by your perception of colour. Eddie Russett is an above average Red who dreams of moving up the ladder by marriage to Constance Oxblood. That is until he falls in love with Jane, a lowly Grey with an uncontrollable temper. Now 14 years later he is releasing its highly anticipated sequel, Red Side Story. (Book Details | Libro.fm)

The Tainted Cup is the first book in a new fantasy adventure series from Robert Jackson Bennett. A high Imperial officer lies dead—killed, to all appearances, when a tree spontaneously erupted from his body. Called in to investigate is Ana Dolabra and her assistant Din. His job is to act as his superior’s eyes and ears–quite literally, as among Ana’s quirks are her insistence on wearing a blindfold at all times, and her refusal to step outside the walls of her home. (Book Details | Libro.fm)

More highly anticipated 2024 book releases:

Also check out these 2023 Book Releases You May Have Missed and our Best Books of 2023.

Pin this book list for later reference

Must Read New Fiction January & February 2024
New Book Releases 2024 January & February