Awards Lists – Man Booker Dozen, Ned Kelly and Davitt Awards Shortlistees

It has been a big 48 hours for reading enthusiasts, with the 2016 Man Booker Dozen and the Ned Kelly Awards and Davitt Awards Shortlists being announced.

2016 Man Booker Dozen

Disclosure: If you click a link in this post we may earn a small commission to help offset our running costs.

2016 Man Booker Dozen

The 13 long-listed titles vying for this year’s £50,000 Man Booker Prize for Fiction (open to writers of any nationality, writing originally in English and published in the UK, 1 October 2015 and 30 September 2016) are:

The 6 title shortlist will be announced on Tuesday 13 September, and the winner announced on Tuesday 25 October.

There are a couple of titles on this list that I’d not come across before. Do Not Say We Have Nothing already had a spot on my new release wishlist and the long-listing of Serious Sweet has just earned it a place there also.

See past Man Booker Prize winners and long listed titles, going back to 1969. Lots of controversy has surrounded this prize over the years. Interestingly, one of this year’s long-listed authors (previously a member of the judging panel), is amongst those that have in the past made comments that made headlines.

2016 Ned Kelly Awards Shortlists

The Ned Kelly Awards (which began in 1995) are Australia’s oldest and most prestigious prizes honouring our crime fiction and true crime writing. … When it came to deciding on a name, co-opting the nation’s most infamous villain seemed a natural fit. Known affectionately as ‘The Neds’, the awards have grown in importance and scope with more categories, more entries and greater acclaim for the winners, who read like a Who’s Who of Australian crime writing. — Australian Crime Writers Association

Ned Kelly Best Fiction and Best First Fiction

Shortlist – Best Fiction

Shortlist – Best First Fiction

See the 5 titles shortlisted for the True Crime category along with judges comments for every title shortlisted at the ACWA website. The Ned Kelly Awards Ceremony will be held in Melbourne on 28 August 2016.

UPDATE: Dave Warner (Before It Breaks) won Best Fiction and Emma Viskic (Resurrection Bay) won Best First Fiction.

Sisters in Crime Australia2016 Davitt Awards Shorts

Did you know that Ellen Davitt (1812-1879) wrote Australia’s first mystery novel, Force and Fraud in 1865?

Sisters in Crime Australia has announced what has been termed a ‘long shortlist’ for the 2016 Davitt Awards for the best crime books by Australian women, sponsored by Booktopia.

Sisters in Crime Australia Davitt Awards Shortlist

Adult Novels – Shortlist

Debut Novels – Shortlist

See the titles shortlisted for the Young Adult Novels, Children’s Novels and Non-fiction Davitt Award categories at Sisters in Crime Australia’s website. The winners will be announced at an event in Melbourne on 27 August.

UPDATE: Emma Viskic won Best Adult Novel, Best Debut Novel and the Readers Choice Award. Risk by Fleur Ferris won Best Young Adult NovelFriday Barnes 2: Under Suspicion by R.A. Spratt won Best Children’s Novel and Best Non-Fiction Novel went to Wild Man by Alecia Simmonds.

Congratulations to all the talented authors in the running to win these prestigious awards.

How many of your recent favourites have been recognised?

Any new authors/books you’ll be adding to your reading lists?