Booklover Mailbox – A Gentleman In Moscow, The Nakano Thrift Shop, Slade House, The Animators

A Gentleman In Moscow Amor Towles, The Nakano Thrift Shop Hiromi Kawakami, Slade House David Mitchell, The Animators Kayla Rae Whitaker

Happy New Year book lovers! More great titles added to my reading pile, the bulk Christmas gifts – lucky me.

A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles

Having absolutely adored Amor Towles’ debut novel Rules of Civility back in 2011, his much anticipated second novel earned a spot on my wish list pre-publication. Have heard so many wonderful things about this one – looking forward to diving in. 

The Nakano Thrift Shop by Hiromi Kawakami

I was enthralled by Hiromi Kawakami’s Strange Weather in Tokyo (also published as The Briefcase), a quietly affecting little novel, and so have sought out more of this bestselling Japanese author’s work. The English translation of The Nakano Thrift Shop by Allison Markin Powell was released by Portobello Books in August 2016.  

UPDATE: Read our 4 Star Review

Slade House by David Mitchell

Any new title from David Mitchell, the author of my all-time favourite novel Cloud Atlas, is guaranteed a spot on my painfully long wish list. Inhabiting the same universe as his more recent novel The Bone Clocks which I also enjoyed, this sounds like fun. A beautiful Christmas gift in hardback.

UPDATE: Read out 3.5 Star Review

The Animators by Kayla Rae Whitaker

An ARC of Kayla Rae Whitaker’s debut novel being published by Random House at the end of this month. 

For readers of Meg Wolitzer and Adelle Waldman, and in the tradition of The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay, comes a bold and vibrant debut novel about friendship, art, ambition—and the secrets we keep and the burdens we shed on the road to adulthood.

UPDATE: Read our 4 Star Review

Which of these titles most interest you?

This week also marks the start of the Aussie Author Challenge 2017 (register now) and the final days to enter our Multi Ebook Giveaway – Contemporary Literary Fiction and Crime Action Thrillers.

Aussie Author Reading Challenge 2017   Pigeon-Blood Red, 4 Years Trapped in My Mind Palace, First Casualty, Grind, The Introvert

Linking to Caffeinated Book Reviewer’s The Sunday Post and Mailbox Monday

Disclosure: If you click a link in this post and make a purchase, I may earn a small commission.

Share this:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

6 Comments

  1. Well, I’ve read an ARC of A Gentleman in Moscow. It’s absolutely divine! I went and bought the only 2 copies I found at Dymocks, one for myself and one to gift to a good friend. The cover is wonderful as well. It was my favourite book of the year out of the 81, and it’s become one of my favourite books of all time. It’s smart, witty, beautifully written. The Count Rostov is the most charming male character I’ve ever encountered. I’m unashamedly in love with him.