Book Review – THE MIDNIGHT PROMISE by Zane Lovitt

The Midnight Promise by Zane Lovitt

The Midnight Promise, A Detective’s Story in Ten Cases Synopsis:  Winner, Ned Kelly Awards, Best First Fiction, 2013 A brilliant Melbourne crime novel, told in ten hardboiled stories. John Dorn is a private investigator. Just like his father used to be. It says ‘private inquiry agent’ in John’s Yellow Pages ad because that’s what his old […]

Book Review – BEYOND BELIEF by Helen Smith

Beyond Belief by Helen Smith

Beyond Belief Synopsis:  Emily Castles, spare-time private investigator, full-time desk jockey is at it again! When renowned psychic Perspicacious Peg predicts a murder will occur at England’s Belief and Beyond conference, her skeptical colleagues recruit twenty-six-year-old budding sleuth Emily to attend the event to investigate. The suspected victim is illusionist Edmund Zenon, who plans to perform […]

Book Review – ERASMUS HOBART AND THE GOLDEN ARROW by Andrew Fish

Erasmus Hobart and the Golden Arrow by Andrew Fish

Erasmus Hobart and the Golden Arrow Synopsis:  In this time-travelling romp, Andrew Fish brings a new slant to the classic legend. Erasmus Hobart is the perfect new adventurer for fans of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett. Robin Hood was a crook! But was he as good a crook as the legends suggest? That’s what Erasmus Hobart […]

Book Review – THE DEVIL I KNOW by Claire Kilroy

The Devil I Know by Claire Kilroy

The Devil I Know Synopsis:  Claire Kilroy is a prodigious, award-winning young talent in Irish fiction, whose fresh, authoritative voice has garnered enthusiastic praise. In The Devil I Know, she delivers a delicious novel, a cautionary tale of financial excess set during the Irish property bubble. Tristram St. Lawrence has not been home for years—ever since he missed his mother’s […]

Book Review – THE HIPPOPOTAMUS by Stephen Fry

The Hippopotamus by Stephen Fry

The Hippopotamus Synopsis:  Ted Wallace is an old, sour, womanising, cantankerous, whisky-sodden beast of a failed poet and drama critic, but he has his faults too. Fired from his newspaper, months behind on his alimony payments, and disgusted with a world that undervalues him, Ted seeks a few months repose and free drink at Swafford Hall, […]

Book Review – THE ROSIE PROJECT by Graeme Simsion

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion Text Publishing

The Rosie Project Synopsis  Meet Don. Don is a genetics professor who just might be somewhere on the autistic spectrum. He looks a little like Gregory Peck and is getting married. He just doesn’t know who to yet. But he has designed a very detailed questionnaire to help him find the perfect woman. And it’s definitely […]

Book Review – COMBUSTION by Steve Worland

Combustion by Steve Worland

Combustion Synopsis  Los Angeles. Traffic clogs the streets. Smog chokes the city. And Zac Bunsen is going to burn it all down. On a ruthless quest to save the planet, Bunsen releases the Swarm, an airborne nanotech virus that targets combustion engines and detonates their fuel supply. It is spectacularly, appallingly successful. Terror and chaos reign […]

Book Review – THE COMBOVER by Adrian N Bravi

The Combover by Adrian N Bravi

The Combover Synopsis: Arduino Gherarducci is the latest in the family line of bald men with ornate combovers. Some combed their hair from one side of the head to the other, some weaved the remnants of their hair together in the middle, but Arduino favors the imperial style of Julius Caesar: forwards, with a fringe. Although […]

Book Review – I STOLE THE RAIN by Elisa Ruotolo

I Stole the Rain by Elisa Ruotolo

I Stole the Rain Synopsis: I Stole the Rain tells a trio of unforgettable stories from the superstitious Italian province of Campania, where fizzy drinks are delivered by cart, old women sell gold to a furtive clientele, and the tobacconist’s daughter is a prize beyond imagining. In “I am Super Legend,” a local team of […]