Book Review – LADY WINDERMERE’S FAN by Oscar Wilde

Lady Windermere's Fan by Oscar Wilde audio

Lady Windermere’s Fan Synopsis: Oscar Wilde’s first play confronts the hypocrisy of public “morality” compared with genuine, private kindness. When it opened in 1892, Lady Windermere’s Fan was an instant success and now, more than a century later, it continues to be revived frequently. The reasons for its popularity are not difficult to identify: the play’s […]

Book Review – FAMILY HEIRLOOMS by Zulmira Ribeiro Tavares

Family Heirlooms by Zulmira Ribeiro Tavares 2

Family Heirlooms Synopsis:  “Zulmira’s fiction escapes the divisions among genres and constructs one of those hybrid and rational beings in whom one recognizes the consistency of modernity.” —Roberto Schwarz Maria Bráulia Munhoz thought settling down with a well-off husband in a house of her own would inaugurate a life of freedom and contentment, but she soon […]

Book Review – DIRK GENTLY’S HOLISTIC DETECTIVE AGENCY by Douglas Adams

Dirk Gently's Holistic Detective Agency by Douglas Adams

Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency Synopsis:  Dirk Gently has an unshakeable belief in the interconnectedness of all things, but his Holistic Detective Agency mainly succeeds in tracking down missing cats for old ladies. Then Dirk stumbles upon an old friend behaving bizarrely – and he’s drawn into a four-billion-year-old mystery that must be solved if the […]

Book Review – THE MIDNIGHT PROMISE by Zane Lovitt

The Midnight Promise by Zane Lovitt

The Midnight Promise, A Detective’s Story in Ten Cases Synopsis:  Winner, Ned Kelly Awards, Best First Fiction, 2013 A brilliant Melbourne crime novel, told in ten hardboiled stories. John Dorn is a private investigator. Just like his father used to be. It says ‘private inquiry agent’ in John’s Yellow Pages ad because that’s what his old […]

Book Review – BEYOND BELIEF by Helen Smith

Beyond Belief by Helen Smith

Beyond Belief Synopsis:  Emily Castles, spare-time private investigator, full-time desk jockey is at it again! When renowned psychic Perspicacious Peg predicts a murder will occur at England’s Belief and Beyond conference, her skeptical colleagues recruit twenty-six-year-old budding sleuth Emily to attend the event to investigate. The suspected victim is illusionist Edmund Zenon, who plans to perform […]

Book Review – ERASMUS HOBART AND THE GOLDEN ARROW by Andrew Fish

Erasmus Hobart and the Golden Arrow by Andrew Fish

Erasmus Hobart and the Golden Arrow Synopsis:  In this time-travelling romp, Andrew Fish brings a new slant to the classic legend. Erasmus Hobart is the perfect new adventurer for fans of Douglas Adams and Terry Pratchett. Robin Hood was a crook! But was he as good a crook as the legends suggest? That’s what Erasmus Hobart […]

Book Review – THE DEVIL I KNOW by Claire Kilroy

The Devil I Know by Claire Kilroy

The Devil I Know Synopsis:  Claire Kilroy is a prodigious, award-winning young talent in Irish fiction, whose fresh, authoritative voice has garnered enthusiastic praise. In The Devil I Know, she delivers a delicious novel, a cautionary tale of financial excess set during the Irish property bubble. Tristram St. Lawrence has not been home for years—ever since he missed his mother’s […]

Book Review – THE HIPPOPOTAMUS by Stephen Fry

The Hippopotamus by Stephen Fry

The Hippopotamus Synopsis:  Ted Wallace is an old, sour, womanising, cantankerous, whisky-sodden beast of a failed poet and drama critic, but he has his faults too. Fired from his newspaper, months behind on his alimony payments, and disgusted with a world that undervalues him, Ted seeks a few months repose and free drink at Swafford Hall, […]